Saturday, January 28, 2023
Mitochondrial Health

Conditioning For Kickboxing & Importance Of Low-Intensity Training w/ Jon Mackey (SSOF Ep. 25)



Jon Mackey currently coaches the Ireland National Kickboxing team and has a wealth of experience in multiple sports, including being the Performance Director of Ireland Canoe.

He’s gone down the rabbit hole of endurance training from his Master’s studies and we dive into it all!

Timestamps
0:00 – Jon’s background
4:10 – Jon’s philosophy of conditioning for kickboxing
15:27 – Is technical training enough to cover low-intensity conditioning?
18:54 – How the 80/20 conditioning ratio changes
20:40 – How much extra high-intensity conditioning can you do leading to a fight?
22:48 – Does specificity matter for conditioning?
25:08 – Can you do small blocks of aerobic conditioning?
32:42 – Can you do too much low-intensity training?
36:30 – How does a week schedule look blending technical & S&C?
38:16 – Case study week schedule of a World Champion
39:38 – Where does strength training fit?
41:00 – How do the days look before and after a sparring day?
43:08 – Constraints led approach to sparring
53:00 – Mitochondrial development
1:01:45 – Lactate pills the new endurance hack?

Jon’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/JonMackey14
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jon_mackey_/

Iron Neck Discount – Code “JDLACEY”: https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/ironneck

Yokkao Discount – Code “SWEETSCIENCE102022”: https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/yokkao

★ ★ FREE Stuff! ★ ★
For The Strikers – 5 Powerful Tips For Developing Devastating KO Power!
https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/devastating-ko-power-yt/

For The Grapplers – 7 Awesome Ways To Get Stronger For Grappling/BJJ, Without Being Tired & Sore!
https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/7-awesome-ways-to-get-stronger-for-grappling-bjj/

For The MMA Athlete – 6 Secrets From The Pros To Never Gas Out
https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/6-secrets-from-the-pros-to-never-gas-out/

Online Training Programs:
🥊 Strength Train Like A Professional Boxer: https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/professional-boxing-training-program/
👊 Underground Boxing Conditioning System: https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/underground-boxing-conditioning-system/
💪 Dominate The Mats Strength Training For Grappling: https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/bjj-grappling-strength-training-program/
🥋 Underground Grappling Conditioning System: https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/underground-grappling-conditioning-system/
👊 Dominate The Cage MMA Strength Program: https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/dominate-the-cage/
😤 Underground MMA Conditioning System: https://sweetscienceoffighting.com/underground-mma-conditioning-system/

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Subscribe here
►► https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCi-FwdyWlvCdE3LWro1eIjw

Follow here
►► https://www.facebook.com/sweetscienceoffighting
►► https://www.instagram.com/sweetscienceoffighting/

source

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.